The three implementing partners of BIOPAMA are IUCN, the EC-JRC (European Commission Joint Research Centre) and the multi-donor ABS (Access and Benefit Sharing) Capacity Development Initiative managed by Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH. BIOPAMA is financially supported through intra-ACP resources from the 10th European Development Fund.


IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature, helps the world find pragmatic solutions to our most pressing environment and development challenges. IUCN’s work focuses on valuing and conserving nature, ensuring effective and equitable governance of its use, and deploying nature-based solutions to global challenges in climate, food and development. IUCN supports scientific research, manages field projects all over the world, and brings governments, NGOs, the UN and companies together to develop policy, laws and best practice.


The Joint Research Centre (JRC), the in-house science service of the European Commission, provides EU policies with independent, evidence-based scientific and technical support, including policies and programmes at global level and specifically those focusing on the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP).


Established in 2006, the ABS Capacity Development Initiative is a multi-donor initiative that aims to support relevant stakeholders on the African continent and in the ACP countries (African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States) in developing and implementing national ABS regulations, in particular to ratify and implement the Nagoya Protocol on ABS.


The European Union (EU) is made up of 28 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders”.

The European Commission is the European Union’s executive body. Led by 28 Commissioners, the European Commission initiates proposals of legislation and acts as guardian of the Treaties. The Commission is also a manager and executor of common policies and of international trade relationships. It is responsible for the management of European Union external assistance.


The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is the largest trans-national intergovernmental organisation of developing countries in the international system, with 79 member countries from Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Today, the main goal of the Group is to drive South-South solidarity and North-South cooperation for the sustainable development of ACP countries and their successful integration into the world economy. Originally brought together as a result of the Association Clause in the Rome Treaty of 1957, that established the European Common Market, the Georgetown Agreement of 1975 formally established the ACP Group as an intergovernmental association. The group has its own structure and a Secretariat based in Brussels that coordinates its activities and provides a rallying point for its meetings and development agendas.